Southern Avenue Charter School’s Board of Directors

Member Roster

The Governing Body/Board of Directors for Southern Avenue Charter School is fully constituted and functioning. Following is a list of their names, titles and experience. Each has a proven record of community involvement and concern for the education of our children. The Board of Directors is fully capable of leading this school of excellence and providing a breadth of educational opportunities for our children. The Board meets the second Tuesday of the month (once a quarter: August, November, February, and May) at the Central Office or by conference call.

Rev. Dr. Noel G. L. Hutchinson, Jr., –Board Chairman
Senior Pastor: First Baptist Church-Lauderdale, Memphis, TN

Mr. Allen Savage –Board Co-Chairman
Instructor, Charter School of Excellence, Memphis, TN

Mrs. Vera Jones –Board Member
Social Working Supervisor, VA Medical Center, Memphis, TN

Dr. Sonijia Martin Stevens –Secretary
Pharmacist, Acredo Industries

Mr. Stan Burton –Board Member
IT Specialist, International Paper

Ms. Chana Tipper Spencer –Board Member
Pharmacist, Methodist Hospitals

Mrs. Carolyn Willett –Board Member
Entrepreneur / Owner, Kiddle Kollege Child Care Center

Ms. Stephanie Walker, Treasurer

Mrs. Adrianne Wilson –Board Member

Judge Carolyn Wade Blackette –Board Member (*New)
Shelby County Criminal Court Judge

Dr. Mose Yvonne Brooks Hooks –Board Member (*New)